Contributing Authors and Researchers
 
  Return to Monteverde Home Page
 
 
Jon Ågren 
Department of Ecological Botany 
University of Umea 
Umea, S-901 87 
Sweden 
jon@ekbot.umu.se 
John Alcock 
Department of Zoology 
Arizona State University 
Tempe, AZ  85287-1501 
j.alcock@asu.edu
Stephen D. Anderson 
Pacific Northwest Research Foundation 
720 Broadway 
Seattle, WA  98122 
SAnder8643@aol.com
James S. Ashe 
Snow Entomology Museum 
University of Kansas 
Lawrence, KS  66045-2106 
ashe@falcon.cc.ukans.edu
John T. Atwood 
The Marie Selby Botanical Gardens 
811 South Palm Avenue 
Sarasota, FL 34236 
atwood@virtu.sar.usf.edu
Sergio Barrios 
Monteverde 
Apartado 5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
Seth Bigelow 
Department of Botany 
University of Florida 
Gainesville, FL 32611 
bigelow@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu 
Robin D. Bjork 
RARE Apartado 5655, Monteverde 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
bjorkr@peak.org
John Boll 
Rt. 6 
Box 721 
Boone, NC  28607 
Marlene Brenes 
Golden Toad Laboratory for Conservation 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Preserve and Tropical Science Center 
Apartado 73-5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
Judith L. Bronstein  
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology 
University of Arizona 
Tucson, AZ  85721 
judieb@u.arizona.edu
Brian V.  Brown 
Entomology Section 
Natural History Museum of Los Angeles 
Los Angeles, CA  90007  
brianb@mizar.usc.edu
Leslie J. Burlingame 
Science, Technology and Society Program 
Franklin and Marshall College 
P.O. Box 3003 
Lancaster, PA  17604 
L_Burlingame@acad.fandm.edu 
William H. Busby 
Kansas Biological Survey 
2401 Constant Avenue 
Lawrence, KS  66047-2906 
w-busby@ukans.edu
Stephan P. Bush 
Department of Biology 
PO Box 1954 
Conway, SC  29526 
bush@coastal.edu
Paul R. Butler 
The Evergreen State College 
Lab II 
Olympia, WA  98505 
butlerp@elwha.evergreen.edu
Francisco Chamberlain Gallegos 
Apdo. 7572-1000 
San Jose, Costa Rica 
Fchamber@expeditions.co.cr
Kenneth L. Clark 
School of Forestry and Resource Conservation 
134 Newins-Ziegler Hall  University of Florida 
Gainesville, FL  32611 
KLCL@gnv.ifas.ufl.edu
Martha L. Crump 
Department of Biological Sciences 
Northern Arizona University 
P.O.Box 5640 
Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5640 
Peterf@nauvax.ucc.nau.edu
Debra DeRosier 
Monteverde 
Apartado 5655, Monteverde 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
Gary W. Diller O’Dell  
Apartado 20-5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
Eric Dinerstein 
World Wildlife Fund 
24th St. NW, Suite 500 
Washington, D.C.  20037 
eric.dinerstein@wwfus.org
Vicente Espinoza 
Monteverde 
Apartado 5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
R. Wills Flowers 
Aricultural Research Programs 
Florida A&M University 
Tallahassee, FL  82308 
Rflowers@famu.edu 
Michael P. Fogden 
Monteverde 
Apartado 5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
Ian D. Gauld 
Biodiversity Office 
The Natural History Museum 
London , SW7 5BD 
United Kingdom 
idg@nhm.ac.uk
Wendy Gibbons 
648 E. Pearl St. 
Lanark, IL  61046
J. Philip Gibson 
Department of Biology 
Agnes Scott College 
Decatur, GA 30030 
pgibson@ness.scottlan.edu
Douglas E. Gill 
Department of Zoology 
University of Maryland 
College Park, MD 20742 
Carolina Godoy 
Instituto de Biodiversidad  
Apartado 22-3100 
Santa Domingo de Heredia, Heredia 
Costa Rica 
cgodoy@rutela.inbio.ac.cr
 Lloyd Goldwasser 
Marine Science Institute 
University of California, Santa Barbara 
Santa Barbara, CA  93106 
goldwass@lifesci.lscf.ucsb.edu
Luis Diego Gómez 
Wilson Botanical Gardens 
Apartado 73, San Vito 8257 
Coto Brus 
Costa Rica 
ldgomez@hortus.ots.ac.cr
S. Robbert Gradstein  
Institute of Plant Sciences 
University of Göttingen 
Untere Karspüle 2 
37073 Göttingen 
Germany 
sgradst@gwdg.de  
Research Projects
Dana Griffin III 
Bryophyte and Lichen Herbarium 
Florida Museum of Natural Hisotry 
University of Florida 
Gainsville, FL  32611 
griffin@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu
Katherine Griffith 
955 Ransom St. 
Ripon, WI  54971 
kbgriffi@facstaff.wisc.edu
Martha Groom 
Department of Zoology 
North Carolina State University 
Raleigh, NC  27695-7617 
mgroom@unity.ncsu.edu 
Sam Grosby 
3120 Weenonah Place 
Mpls, MN  55417 
Moxie@wavefront.com
Carlos F. Guindon 
Monteverde 
Apartdado 5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
carlos_guindon@hotmail.com
Wilford (“Wolf”)Guindon 
Monteverde 
Apartado 5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
William A. Haber 
Monteverde 
Apartado 50-5655 
Monteverde, Costa Rica 
Central America 
whaber@sol.racsa.co.cr 
Paul Hanson 
Escuela de Biología  
Universidad de Costa Rica 
San Pedro 
Costa Rica 
cgodoy@rutela.inbio.ac.cr
Gary S. Hartshorn 
Organization for Tropical Studies 
Duke University 
Box DM 
Durham, NC  27706 
ghartsho@acpub.duke.edu 
Celia A. Harvey 
Section of Ecology and Systematics 
Cornell University 
Ithaca, NY14853 
Cah10@cornell.edu
David Hollis 
Entomology 
The Natural History Museum 
London, SW7 5BD 
United Kingdom 
dh@nhm.ac.uk
Frank T. Hovore 
14734 Sundance Place 
Santa Clarita, CA  91351-1542 
fthovore@smartlink.net
Stephan W. Ingram 
140 Willow Rd. 
Swall Meadows 
Bishop, CA  93514 
ingram@telis.org 
Publication List 
Epiphyte Data
David P. Janos 
Department of Biology 
University of Miami 
Coral Gables, FL  33124 
djanos@umiami.ir.miami.edu
Frank Joyce 
Monteverde 
Apartado 32-5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
fjoyce@sol.racsa.co.cr
Sharon Kinsman 
Department of Biology 
Bates College 
Lewiston, ME  04240 
skinsman@abacus.bates.edu
Lawrence R. Kirkendall 
Associate Professor of Zoology 
University Bergen Zoological Institute 
Allegaten 41, N-5007 
Norway 
lawrence.kirkendall@zoo.uib.no
Suzanne Koptur 
Department of Biological Sciences 
Florida International University 
Miami, FL  33199 
kopturs@servax.fiu.edu
Peter Kukle 
54 Ontario St. 
Dumont, NJ  67628  USA 
Catherine A.  Langtimm 
The Florida Carribean Science Center 
Biological Research Division, U.S. Geological Survey 
7920 NW 71s Street 
Gainesville, FL 32653 
Cathy_langtimm@usgs.gov
Richard K. LaVal 
Monteverde  
Apartado 5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
Rlaval@sol.racsa.co.cr 
Bob Law 
Monteverde 
Apartado 5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
Marcy F. Lawton 
Department of Biological Sciences 
University of Alabama 
Huntsville, AL  35899 
mlawton@ro.com 
Robert O. Lawton 
Department of Biological Sciences 
University of Alabama 
Huntsville, AL  35899 
lawtonr@email.uah.edu 
Home Page:  http://www.uah.edu/colleges/science/biology/faculty/lawtonr/bio.html
Robert W. Lichtwardt 
Department of Botany 
University of Kansas 
Lawrence, KS  66045-2106 
licht@kuhub.cc.ukans.edu 
Gut Fungi Research
Jorge Arturo Lobo 
Escuela de Biología 
Universidad de Costa Rica 
San Pedro 
Costa Rica
John T.  Longino 
The Evergreen State College  
Lab I 
Olympia, WA  98505 
longinoj@elwha.evergreen.edu 
Ant research: http://www.evergreen.edu/ants
Cecile Lumer 
PO Box 980 
Bisbee, AZ  85603 
cecile@theriver.com
Harry E. Luther 
The Marie Selby Botanical Gardens 
811 South Palm Avenue  
Sarasota, FL  34236 
Blase Maffia 
Department of Biology 
University of Miami 
Coral Gables, FL  33124 
Bmaffia882@aol.com
Alan R. Masters 
Monteverde  
Apartado 26-5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
amasters@sol.racsa.co.cr 
Karen  Masters 
Monteverde  
Apartado 26-5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
amasters@sol.racsa.co.cr
Teri J. Matelson 
75A High Streeet 
San Francisco, CA  94114 
tmatelson@aol.com
David B. McDonald 
Department of Zoology 
University of Montana 
Laramie, WY  
dbmcd@uwyo.edu
Juan José Monge 
Productores de Monteverde 
Apdo. 10165-1000 
San Jose 
Costa Rica 
María I. Morales 
Escuela de Biología 
Cuidad Universitaria Rodrigo Facio 
San José 
Costa Rica
K. Greg Murray 
Department of Biology 
Hope College 
Holland, MI 49422-9000 
gmurray@hope.cit.hope.edu
Nalini M. Nadkarni 
The Evergreen State College  
Lab II 
Olympia, WA 98505 
nadkarnn@evergreen.edu
Molly Nepokroeff 
Laboratory of Molecular Systematics 
National Museum of Natural History 
MSC, MRC-534 
Smithsonian Institution 
Washington, DC  20560 
Mnepokro@students.wisc.edu
Karen Nielson 
Monteverde 
Apartado 5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica
Sean O'Donnell 
Department of Psychology 
University of Washington 
Seattle, WA 98195 
sodonnel@u.washington.edu  
Wasp Data
Gard Otis 
Department of Environmental Biology 
University of Guelph 
Guelph, Ontario N1G 2W1 Canada 
Gotis@evbhort.uoguelph.ca
Daniel C. Peck 
International Center for Tropical Agriculture 
AA 6713 
Cali 
Columbia 
dpeck@calima.ciat.cgiar.org 
J. Alan Pounds 
Golden Toad Laboratory for Conservation 
Apartado 73-5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
goldtoad@sol.racsa.co.cr
George V. N. Powell 
Monteverde 
Apartado 56-5655 
Santa Elena, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
gpowell@sol.racsa.co.cr
Francis E. Putz 
Department of Botany 
University of Florida 
Gainesville, FL  32611  
fep@mailhost.botany.ufl.edu
Alonso Ramírez 
Institute of Ecology 
University of Georgia 
Athens, GA 30602 
aramirez@uga.cc.uga.edu 
Home Page: www.arches.uga.edu/~aramirez/Home.html
Brett C. Ratcliffe 
University of Nebraska State Museum 
University of Nebraska 
PO Box 880514 W436 Nebraska Hall 
Lincoln, NE 68588-0514 
BRATCLIFFE@unl.edu
Jacques Rifkind 
Entomology Section 
Natural History Museum of Los Angeles 
900 Exposition Boulevard 
Los Angeles, CA 90007  
clerid@aol.com
Cecilia M. Riley 
Director, Gulf Coast Bird Observatory 
9800 Richmond Ave., Suite 150 
Houston, TX 77042 
Criley@nol.net
Sarah Sargent 
Department of Biology 
Allegheny College 
Meadville, PA 16335 
antidaphne@aol.com
Jay Savage 
Department of Biology, University of Miami 
P.O. Box 249118 
Coral Gables, FL 33124-0421 
Savy@miami.edu
Doug Schaefer 
Institute for Tropical Ecosystem Studies 
Box 363682 
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936 
Dschaete@upracd.upr.clu.edu 
Douglas Schemske 
Department of Botany KB-15 
University of Washington 
Seattle, WA 98195 
Schemske@botany.washington.edu 
Nat Scrimshaw 
Monteverde Institute 
Apartado 69-5655 
Monteverde, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
Natscrim@racsa.co.cr
William N. Setzer 
Department of Chemistry 
University of Alabama 
Huntsville, AL 35899 
wsetzer@matsci.uah.edu 
Home page: http://chemistry.uah.edu/Faculty/setzer 
   Natural Products Page (chemistry):  http://chemistry.uah.edu/Faculty/setzer/natproducts.html 
   Natural Group Products Page (Biology):  http://www.uah.edu/colleges/science/biology/groups/npg/npg.html 
Jennifer Shopland 
Mexico Country Program 
The Nature Conservancy 
Tucson, AZ  85716 
 
Kimberly G. Smith 
Department of Biological Sciences 
University of Arkansas 
Fayetteville, AR  72701 
kgsmith@comp.uark.edu
Monika Springer 
Departamento de Biología  
Universidad de Costa Rica 
San Pedro 
Costa Rica
Robert Stevenson 
Department of Biology 
University of Massachusetts 
Boston, MA  02125 
rstevenson@umbsky.cc.umb.edu  
Home Page: http://mothra.bio.umb.edu/ 
Electronic Field Guide Project: http://www.cs.umb.edu/~ram/efg
Joseph Stuckey 
Apartado 47-5655 
Monteverde, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica  
jstuckey@sol.racsa.co.cr
Kenneth J. Sytsma 
Department of Botany 
University of Wisconsin 
Madison, WI  53706 
Kjsytsma@facstaff.wisc.edu 
Harry  M. Tiebout III 
Department of Biology 
West Chester University 
West Chester, PA  19383 
htiebout@wcupa.edu
Robert M. Timm  
Curator of Mammals 
Natural History Museum – Dyche Hall 
University of Kansas 
Lawrence, KS  66045-2454 
btimm@ukans.edu 
Home Page: http://www.ukans.edu/~sysecol/Main/timm.htm 
Jonathan H. Titus  
Oregon Natural Heritage Program 
821 SE 14th Avenue 
Portland, OR  97214 
Jtitus@tnc.org
Jill M. Trainer 
Department of Biology 
University of Northern Iowa 
Cedar Falls, IA  50613 
jill.trainer@uni.edu
Robert Unnasch 
The Nature Conservancy 
1815 North Lynn Street 
Arlington, VA 22209 
bunnasch@tnc.org
Lisa K. Valburg 
Department of Biology 
Pennsylvania State University 
Dunmore, PA  18512-1699 
LKV1@PSU.EDU 
Carlos Valderrama A.  
Tulane University 
1201Lake Ave. #238 
New Orleans, LA 70005 
Cocampo@mailhost.tcs.tulane.edu
Katy VanDusen Joyce 
Apartado 32-5655 
Monteverde, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
vandusen@sol.racsa.co.cr
Eugenio Vargas 
Monteverde Institute 
Apartado 69-5655 
Monteverde, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
Mvipac@sol.racsa.co.cr
Guillermo Vargas 
Monteverde Conservation League 
Apartado 10581-1000 
San José 
Costa Rica 
Gvargasl@sol.racsa.co.cr 
José Luis Vargas 
Productores Monteverde 
Apartado 10165-1000 
San José 
Costa Rica
Martha E. Weiss 
Department of Botany 
University of Maryland 
College Park, MD  20742
 Dan Wenny 
Department of Zoology 
University of Florida 
Gainesville, FL 32611 
danwenny@zoo.ufl.edu
Nathaniel T. Wheelwright 
Department of Biology 
Bowdoin College 
Brunswick, ME 04011 
Bss@polar.bowdoin.edu  
www.bowdoin.edu/dept/bio/wheelwright.htm
Dean A. Williams 
Department of Biological Sciences 
Purdue University 
West Lafayette, IN 47907 
Dwilliams@bilbo.bio.purdue.edu
Michele Williamson 
Dept, of Entomology, Royal Ontario Museum 
100 Queens Park 
Toronto, ONT M55 2C6 
Canada
Kathy Winnett-Murray 
Department of Biology 
Hope College 
Holland, MI  49423-9000  
Winnetmurray@hope.cit.hope.edu
Jim Wolfe 
Apartado 40-5655 
Monteverde, Puntarenas 
Costa Rica 
wolfej@sol.racsa.co.cr
Stephen P. Wood 
290 MLBM PO Box 20200 
Provo, UT 84602-0200
Bruce Young 
Latin America and Caribbean Division 
The Nature Conservancy 
1815 N. Lynn Street 
Arlington, Virginia 22209 
Byoung@tnc.org 
Manual A. Zumbado 
Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad  
Apartado 22-3100 
Santo Domingo de Heredia 
Costa Rica 
mzumbado@rutela.inbio.ac.cr
 
 Return to Monteverde Home Page